Posted on

Mailbox 9 3/4, Our FIRST Little Free Library!


I am so excited to finally announce that I'd So Rather Be Reading has opened our first Little Free Library in the tiny Texas town of Vidor. This is the first of three that I have planned and each one will have its own theme and the books will be age specific.

Mailbox 9 3/4 can be found HERE on the Global map (you can find it quickest by searching by our zip code, 77662). This library is obviously Harry Potter themed and is filled with Middle Grade & Children's books!


If you are not familiar with Little Free Libraries, visit HERE. The theme of this wonderful organization is Take a Book, Share a Book. To date there are over 75,000 Little Free Libraries across the globe and now we have one of our very own!

I saw my first #LFL while visiting my SIL in Daybreak, UT a couple years ago (#32633).
I literally squealed and made my entire family trudge through snow and investigate! I was instantly hooked and knew I wanted (needed) these in our hometown. I think I visited that box at least a dozen times. I had drank the literary KoolAid!

I've received a lot of books from publishers and authors over the years and I give a lot of them away but I had always wanted a better way to share a good book. This was it!

When we returned home, I quickly began my Honey Do list-- all my great ideas require extensive Honey Do's. Don't worry, I tell him he's hot stuff and bring him water while he works and makes my little dreams come true.

I had planned to have these up and running quickly. I went around town and scoped out the right spots, got permission and even ordered the official registration plates. And then Hurricane Harvey hit. Our tiny town received over 50 inches, to say it was a tragedy still doesn't do it justice. Our own Macy Kate lost her home and most over her books! So, I shelved the plans until we were rebuilt and ready.  Fast forward two years and...

πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰ WE ARE READY! πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

And to start off, I have filled Mailbox 9 3/4 with one of my favorite short stories that I read each Christmas, The Gift of the Magi.



_________________________________________________________

Obviously, many of you are not physically close and cannot visit our super awesome library, but you can find one near you and support it! Fill it up, visit it, #hashtag it and post important-- make getting a new book seem like the coolest event ever! There are always people watching you, let them see you excited about reading.
Visit the Map HERE

If there isn't a #LFL near you, consider starting your own. If you need help planning I will help! Send me an email and I will guide you through the process. iwouldratherbereading@gmail.com

A special thank you to: 
  • The Dulaney family for their support! You gave Mailbox 9 3/4 a home and a good start.
  • The Beaumont Enterprise for donating a newspaper stand.
  • All the publishers that send us great stories to share.
  • Ms. Leger for donating LOADS of books.
  • To Tailor Made Stamps for making such an awesome book stamp!
  • To The Bluebonnet Nook for designing our stamp image
  • To JK Rowling for creating one of the greatest escape, the ultimate world of Wizards!
_________________________________________________________

πŸ“« WATCH FOR OUR NEXT TWO LIBRARIES:
    • FLY GUY to make his debut when we open our Childrens #LFL
      
    • YOUNG ADULT #LFL... we need a location and theme! SHARE YOUR IDEAS!




      image sources: littlefreelibrary.org and google.com (fly guy)

      This article originally appeared on I'd So Rather Be Reading

      Posted on

      Midwinter’s Eve Giveaway & Blog Hop


      Written with a blend of humor and practical wisdom, The Same Sweet Girl’s Guide to Life by Cassandra King offers inspiration and solid advice to new graduates that can sustain them through life’s inevitable ups and downs.  In this small book you will find advice that will only grow in meaning throughout the years. It can - and should - be read again and again, by thoughtful people of all ages.
       
      Review HERE 
       
      Enter below for a chance to win your very own copy!
       
      β„οΈπŸŽβ„οΈπŸŽβ„οΈπŸŽβ„οΈπŸŽβ„οΈπŸŽβ„οΈπŸŽβ„οΈπŸŽβ„οΈπŸŽβ„οΈπŸŽβ„οΈπŸŽβ„οΈπŸŽβ„οΈπŸŽβ„οΈπŸŽβ„οΈπŸŽβ„οΈπŸŽβ„οΈπŸŽβ„οΈ
       
      a Rafflecopter giveaway



      This article originally appeared on I'd So Rather Be Reading

      Posted on

      Book Review: Laugh Out Loud Christmas Jokes for Kids by Rob Elliott


      The first-ever Christmas collection from the #1 bestselling author of Laugh-Out-Loud Jokes for Kids is finally here with hundreds of holiday- and winter-themed jokes to make the season bright.


      The holiday season just got a whole lot merrier now that Rob Elliott is back with another instant classic full of fresh, frosty fun to bring the whole family together. These pages are bursting with laughter to warm up the fireside, the sledding slopes, and everywhere in between.
       

      ↳ Why don’t lobsters give Christmas presents?

            
      β†’ Because they’re shellfish! 
      ______________________________________________________________

      Release Date: September 2016
      Age Group: Children, Family
      Source:  Gifted
      Reviewed By: Nat

      Review:

      This is a great family funny! I brought this book out at breakfast and read a few of the jokes out loud while my kids were fighting, wailing, gnashing their teeth getting ready for school. It started off with an eye roll and an "it's too early for this" but by the time we were ready to go, I'd gotten a few smirks and a "this are so corny but funny when you get all excited reading them". I'll take it thank you very much!

      My first grader thought a few were so great that he tried memorizing a couple to re-tell to his friends at school. He really got a kick out of the knock, knock jokes too. πŸ˜‚  
      πŸŽ…πŸ½ What's Santa's favorite candy?
          ↳ Jolly Ranchers, of course!

      And a little trivia too.
      What do you have in December that's not in any other month?
          ↳ The letter "D" πŸ€“
      ______________________________________________________________ 


      🎁🎁🎁 This little gem is a great gift for: any family, a children's book exchange, teacher gift or even a stocking stuffer. I found it on Amazon for less than $5 (and it's prime)! 🎁🎁🎁



      This article originally appeared on I'd So Rather Be Reading

      Posted on

      Book Review: The Thank You Book by Mary Lyn Ray


      I saved this little gem until today, in the Spirit of Thanksgiving, THANK YOU to all the authors, readers and friends who share the love of a good book!
      You are special.


      Summary:
      "Perfect for fans of Margaret Wise Brown and Pat Zietlow Miller’s Be Kind, The Thank You Book explores the many ways of being thankful that can fill a child's day. Timely, wise, and accessible, the poetic text and tender illustrations celebrate the powerful impact gratitude can have on our lives."

      Thank you isn't just for learning manners.
      It's also for when something wakes a
      little hum
      β€”a little happy humβ€”inside you
      and you want to answer back.


      The Thank You Book explores the many ways we can be thankful for the pleasures great and small that await us every day. Tender and poetic, it reflects on the role gratitude can play in our lives and celebrates the powerful impact it can have on us.


      Release Date:  September 2018
      Age Group: Childrens, Picture, Read-Aloud
      Source: Publisher
      Reviewed By: Nat

      Review:
      The Thank You Book's target audience may be children but this is such a sweet reminder to everyone to simply be thankful, in all things. 

      "Thank You" and "I'm Sorry" are probably two of the hardest phrases for people to express to one another and yet they mean so much. Teaching young kids to say them may start out in an effort to teach a child good manners but it needs to progress into so much more. I think worldwide, we could use a good book full of Thank You's right now. Life is hard but it can still be happy.

      This book is a sweet and gentle expression of simply being thankful for the big and little things, the good and the not-so-good times and everything in-between. I loved how the simple pleasures in life that we may take for granted were celebrated. I mean, I am pretty grateful for puddles. They sure brought me a lot of joy as a kid. They have also saved my sanity when all my kids were little and I'd yell "Go play in the puddles!" It's a real game-changer when you tell kids to go and get muddy.

      Art.
      The illustrations are beautiful and so detailed. I really enjoyed studying the pictures and finding little treasures (like the bear dressed as Harry Potter for Halloween!).

      And I have to mention that the physical copy of this book, it is very nice quality! I know I am thankful for the good feel of a book. 

      This would be a perfect book to gift for a new mom, preschool teacher, and/or makes a great read for a new Thanksgiving tradition. I paired my book with our Turkey on the Table this year. Even though it's for a much younger audience than I have, it was still fun to read and have the older kids teach the younger ones about being thankful.


      Hats off to Mary Ray & Stephanie Graegin for creating such a sweet reminder of gratitude.

      This article originally appeared on I'd So Rather Be Reading

      Posted on

      GIVEAWAY: Clear Your Shelves!



      πŸ“–πŸŽ‰πŸ“–πŸŽ‰ It's time to share! πŸ“–πŸŽ‰πŸ“–πŸŽ‰


      Enter for a chance to win a copy of Sunborn Rising by Aaron Safronoff and a really cool piece of art work!
       
      a Rafflecopter giveaway





      __________________________________________________________________________

      This article originally appeared on I'd So Rather Be Reading

      Posted on

      Giveaway! Christmas in July, Merry Bookmas!


      CHRISTMAS IN JULY! 
      πŸ“–β˜€οΈπŸŽ…πŸ½πŸŽ

      This giveaway is simple, follow on Instagram and πŸ’₯BOOMπŸ’₯ you might win your very own army of minions! Well, sort of... I'm not πŸŽ…πŸ½ but I know him!

      Our instagram (@idsoratherbereading) is lonely and we were late to the game, so help us beef up and follow!


      a Rafflecopter giveaway

       

      This article originally appeared on I'd So Rather Be Reading